French weight loss for Boomers

From a comment on a previous post I have looked into the French diet.

Apparently a Dr. Pierre Dukan from France has just written a book on this topic.


Further research shows his information seems to be basically a modified Atkins type diet.

High protein, low fat , more fiber from Oat Bran, vegetables and drink plenty of water.


From my own observation  (as I am not a doctor), I noticed when I lived in England many years ago the English ate eggs, bacon, pork sausage, baked beans with fried bread for breakfast not including the pints of Beer at lunch time and generally remained trim. They basically ate a high protein diet.

Due to public pressure about health they have cut down on these breakfast  and have been eating more supposedly healthily. I noticed over recent years more English are putting on weight. The diet has changed to more grains, mainly corn as it is cheaper. I do not know if you have notice there is corn in everything. Cornflakes, High fructose corn syrup (HFCS), Sorbitol, Dextrose, Maltodextrins, Corn meal, Corn starch, corn syrup,  monosodium glutamate(made from corn in the west),  xanthan gum etc.  etc. 

 The reason I think  it is a cheap substitute in food processing, and is a high in carbohydrates.

 They also use corn syrup to make Beer and some spirits like Whiskies.


Getting back to the French diet — it is mainly high protein , mixed vegetables, plenty of red wine and a long relaxed meal time. Food is savored not rushed.

I am presently trying this type of diet myself I will let you know how it goes. Although this week I have lost a few pounds without exercise using this high protein diet.

3 thoughts on “French weight loss for Boomers

    • Chris, Thanks for your interest. I do not have any particular receipts at present but as I said in the post I am trying out this diet and over the next few weeks and will test out a few that I find interesting and will post to the receipts section.

      Thanks, Bob

  1. Update,
    Well so far my weight is slowly going down without P90X type exercise. When I get the inspiration I will put my before and after belly photos. Probably in a few months as without exercise it is a slow process but it seems to be working so far.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

