Income from recycling.

Today I took my wife to one of our local supermarket. When we arrived I noticed in the parking lot a small building with people cueing up to face this building. Fueling my curiosity I took a closer look to see what these people were doing. To my amazement they were putting cans, plastic bottles and glass bottles in a hole in the wall. This hole was an automated recycle collecting point. When finished they received a receipt for the total of all the recycles containers. This receipt was redeemable at the customer services section of the supermarket.

What a great idea instead of throwing  away old water, soda, beer, bottles and cans.( we normally put ours in the city recycle bins.)  This is a easy and quick way to get refund for all those Container Redemption fees that you pay for when you purchased your product. These automatic systems are usually open 24 hours so you can go at your own convenience.

Check your local ares for these sites. This particular one was located outside a Ralphs supermarket.

About Bob

Retirement Lifestyle, living well on less
This entry was posted in Frugal Strategies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Income from recycling.

  1. Denny says:

    FYI
    Be aware that not all states in the U.S.A. offer refunds on drink containers.
    Denny

    • Bob says:

      Thanks Denny, I have lived in California for most of my life and presumed all state had container redemption value.

Leave a comment