RV lifestyle without RV

For many years I have seriously though about buying a RV.  I eventually came up with  the 5th wheel set up.  This basically allowed us to park our RV at a camp site, unhook our pickup, and have a means of transport away from the campsite. Then the cost began to mount up. We were trying to see if we liked the lifestyle. Our idea was to RV at the weekend and holidays to try it out. While I was working we had to park the RV somewhere . RV parking cost started to add up. Then I had a brainwave:- Live a RV lifestyle without a RV For many years I contemplated a simpler life with less possessions. If you check out my garage I wonder what happened. That is why I use ebay or Craiglist to find homes for all my extra unneeded stuff. Like George Carlin once said a "house is a place for your stuff". When I look back,  when I was younger, the best times was when I owned very little and could just up and go any time I wanted. Then  a job/career got in the way. I think you understand. This brings us back RV lifestyle. Instead of the ownership cost, maintenance, fuel etc. I started looking at the lifestyle, particularly the times we traveling abroad.

  • Why own a car when you can rent as needed.
  • Rent a short stay motel/hotel in the location you want to go to.
  • Transportation  By flying, train, bus
  • If necessary rent a RV to go to somewhere like a National parks that do not have accommodation.

Why own a car when you can rent as needed Presently I have calculated our cost of owning a car, depreciation, insurance,repairs,  upkeep etc. for us I am finding we are using our car less and less. Particularly when we are traveling and our car just sits at home. So for us we found it cheaper to rent a car as needed, even get a taxi in a emergency. This can still be cheaper in the long run. If the rental car breaks down or is involved in an accident ,  you can get another car without all the aggravation in finding a repair shop, then renting a car while your car is being repaired. Even some of the car insurance can be covered  if you use a credit card. Rent a short stay motel/hotel in the location you want to go too. Details to follow. Transportation  By flying, train, bus Details to follow If necessary rent a RV to go to somewhere like a National parks that do not have accommodation. Details to follow.

2 thoughts on “RV lifestyle without RV

  1. I agree, why pay for a car that is sitting parked while you are traveling. Most of the time I finish up renting a car at my location anyway.
    Thanks for the idea, keep it up.

    cloud837

Leave a Reply

